Arts, Entertainment, and Culture

The Okefenokee Swamp Park

The Okefenokee Swamp Park can be found at the northern tip of the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge. This locally owned and operated park is filled with adventure for all ages. Boat tours, train tours, and “Eye on Nature” shows are all part of the daily schedule. Visitors can get a close look at the local wildlife while learning about their habitat and enjoy colorful tales about the swamp while touring the park. Park is open year-round, 7 days a week, 9:00am to 5:30pm or visit their website at

Obediah’s Okefenok

Visit the 1800’s pioneer homestead of Obediah Barber. Since 1989, this homestead has been restored and turned into a park, now listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Visitors can venture down the 1100 ft. boardwalk, walk the nature trails, or just stroll through the many buildings and museums. Wildlife observation areas also allow viewing of over 100 different animals native to the Okefenokee. Obediah’s is open year-round from 10am-5pm; you can visit their website at

Laura S. Walker State Park

Open year-round, the park is located just a few miles from the Okefenokee Swamp Park. Fishing and watersports are popular during the summer in the park’s 120-acre lake, while camping is popular year-round. Laura Walker also provides a beautiful layout of picnic areas and group shelters that are great for family outings, not to mention a large playground for the kids. The Lakes at Laura Walker 18-Hole Golf Course is the newest addition to Laura S. Walker State Park. This golf course is complete with its own Pro Shop and a beautiful landscape. The wastelands, sand traps, and rolling hills were all created from the dirt removed to make the three large lakes on the course. You can learn more at

The Historic Downtown District of Waycross

This area is being revitalized more every day. The restoration of our Historic Passenger Rail Depot, now has the Downtown Waycross Development Authority and the Chamber of Commerce offices, and was completed in 1998. A multi-million dollar project will turn a historic hotel into local office space and new store fronts in 2005. Visitors may pick up a Historic Walking Tour brochure at the Visitor Center in City Hall and browse through the shops and cafes Downtown Waycross has to offer. Visit the Downtown Waycross Development Authority website at

Southern Forest World Museum

This is the home to “Stucky”, the hunting dog made famous after it was found mummified in a hollow tree. This museum is dedicated to history of the Timber Industry surrounding the Okefenokee Area, and includes interactive displays that are great for teaching children about the importance of Forestry. In the center of the museum is a spiral stairwell built inside a replica pine tree. Please call 912.285.4056 or 912.285.4260 for schedules and other information regarding the museum or visit their website at

The Okefenokee Heritage Center Museum

This museum focuses on the heritage and history of Okefenokee area. Exhibits display the influences of Native Americans, African Americans, and the pioneers. A one-of-a-kind “Sacred Heart” Gospel Sing exhibit has a musical, interactive display, and outside the museum, visitors can climb aboard an original 1912 Baldwin Steam Locomotive with its passenger cars and caboose. For more info, please contact OHC at 912.285.4260 or visit their website at